Memoriam follows a group of people in what may be a passing on of information or a search for something that is difficult to retain. What it is exactly is not revealed to us the audience, but we dive into a poetic exploration of memorizing and remembering. In a sensuous universe of reminiscences and premonitions,  Memoriam is centered around mirroring as a metaphor for our present and how past and future are inextricably linked.

Commissioned by Scenatet, Memoriam is the final part of composer Niels Rønsholdt’s trilogy about relations and in particular the paradoxical loneliness that inhabits every human relationship. Memoriam was made in close collaboration between Scenatet, Niels Rønsholdt, choreographer Tim Matiakis and danser Marie Kaae Schmidt.

On stage is the world-renowned house dancer Marie Kaae Schmidt together with Scenatet’s ensemble: Anna Jalving (violin & viola), Katrine Grarup Elbo (violin), Matias Seibæk (percussion), Signe Asmussen (soprano) and Mathias Monrad Møller (tenor).

Memoriam was premiered in Musikhuset København in October 2022.

The trilogy explores the love relation from three different angles: The word, the gaze, and the touch.

Word for Word (2014) has been staged in two different versions at the Spor Festival, the Museum of Contemporary Art, and at The Royal Danish Library. It was critically acclaimed a.o. in British Journals of Music and received a 6-star review in Aarhus Stiftidende.

Gaze for Gaze (2017) was premiered by Scenatet and since it shown at Spor Festival 2018 and Warsaw Autumn 2019. It received a 5-heart review in Politiken, and the acclaimed British magazine Tempo wrote: “Gaze for Gaze is a dark and immersive experience that takes some essential steps in bringing opera out of the dark and into the twenty-first century”

Credits Memoriam

Music and text: Niels Rønsholdt
Concept and stage direction: Niels Rønsholdt, Tim Matiakis and Anna Berit Asp Christensen
Choreography: Tim Matiakis
Dancer: Marie Kaae Schmidt
Scenatet: Signe Asmussen (soprano), Mathias Monrad Møller (tenor), Anna Jalving (violin, viola), Katrine Grarup Elbo (violin), Matias Seibæk (percussion)
Lighting design: Jonatan Winbo
Costumes and styling: Ylva Falk
Make-up and hair assistant: Leila Belangeon Bouaziz
Assisting producer: Christine Walther Sørensen
Artistic director: Anna Berit Asp Christensen
The performance is created in close collaboration between all of the above.
Memoriam is initiated, commissioned, and produced by Scenatet.
Video documentation: AdeY

Memoriam is supported by The Danish Arts Foundation, The Obel Family Foundation, Knud Højgaard’s Foundation, The Danish Composer’s Society, and KODA Dramatik