Composed by: Travis Just
Created by: Kara Feely

Performed at SPOR Festival, May 2014 and at Roulette, Brooklyn, NY, March 2015

New York Girls is a performance for household objects, voices, instruments, and video. An exercise in extremes, and a fanfare for the dispersed.  It is a demonstration of controlled feedback, plagiarism, and precisely-placed things.

The piece is created by Object Collection and works with the group’s concerns of simultaneity, densely layered material, and the manipulation of objects and processes.

Object Colloction was founded in 2004 by writer/director Kara Feely and composer/musician Travis Just. Based in Brooklyn, the group operates within the intersecting practices of performance, experimental music and theater.

Pieces included in “New York Girls”:
l’Etat assassine, assassines l’Etat (Travis Just, 2012)
Paul Pierce (Travis Just, 2011)
Thing/Things (Travis Just, 2011)
Gun Sale (Travis Just, 2009)
New Names Not New Things (Kara Feely, 2011)
Still Life Series (Kara Feely, 2010)
Plagiarized Performance: Kaprow (Kara Feely, 2011)

SCENATET performed a new version of the work New York Girls together with Object Collection called New York Girls 2: Space Control. The work is a special version made for SCENATET performed in cooperation with prominent performers from New York.

The concert took place at Roulette in Brooklyn, New York and marked SCENATET’s debut on the American art scene with the Danish Consulate General in New York as a partner.

New York Girls 2: Space Control (2015)